Jan Ivarsson Award

ESIST is proud to present the Jan Ivarsson Award for invaluable services to the field of audiovisual translation (AVT). The award was first given to the subtitling guru Jan Ivarsson at the 2010 Languages and the Media conference for his lifelong work in subtitling, where his life’s achievements have pioneered, promoted and disseminated knowledge of this erstwhile neglected field of translation.

The award will be presented biennially in connection with the association’s General Meeting, which usually takes place in Berlin at the Languages and the Media conference. The award will be given to a person “for invaluable services to the field of audiovisual translation”. This means any individual whose achievements have furthered the cause of AVT, either academically or professionally, be s/he a young scholar or a well-established person in the field of AVT for her/his life-long achievement (and anyone in between whose achievements would make her/him worthy of the award).

The award includes lifetime membership of ESIST. Nominations for the Jan Ivarsson award must be sent to email hidden; JavaScript is required. The Executive Board will assess all nominations received and make the final decision.

The laureate of 2012 Jan Ivarsson Award was Mary Carroll, who received the award for her life-long achievements in the field of subtitling, as well as for bringing together the professional world of AVT and academia.

Mary Carroll and Jan Ivarsson with his award

In 2014, Prof. Jorge Díaz Cintas received the Award for his tireless work promoting audiovisual translation in general and for his excellent and inspiring research on subtitling in particular.

The 2016 award was given to Prof. Yves Gambier, for being a pioneer in audiovisual translation studies, for always enhancing high-quality practice, and for promoting and supporting training in AVT across the globe.

The 2018 Jan Ivarsson Award was given to Prof. Aline Remael from the University of Antwerp for her lifelong dedication to developing the field of audiovisual translation and commitment to furthering research on media accessibility.

In 2020, Prof. Frederic Chaume from the Universitat Jaume I received the Jan Ivarsson Award for his enthusiastic commitment to promoting international attention, research and training in audiovisual translation, particularly dubbing, and for his devoted support for professionals. This year’s award ceremony was held online.

In 2022, the Jan Ivarsson Award was presented to Prof. Agnieszka Szarkowska for her remarkable and multifaceted research in audiovisual translation and media accessibility using cutting-edge technologies, and for her commitment to advancing training and the professionalisation of the field.

ESIST membership

Application for membership is invited from anyone with an interest in screen translation, be it an academic or professional. Membership is also open to persons residing outside Europe.

To renew your membership, send the payment for the membership fee to davidorregocarmona@gmail.com via PayPal, as detailed in the membership section, indicating your full name and the renewal period. You can also pay by bank transfer - just email our Treasurer David Orrego-Carmona at the same email address to request our bank account details.

You only need to resubmit the Membership application form if any of your details have changed. If your affiliation and/or email address have changed, in addition to filling in the application form, kindly also inform the President Sharon Black via email at info@esist.org

Become a member